California Gun Safety Practice Test 2021 (Updated). To obtain an FSC, a person must pass a Department of Justice (DOJ) written test. Therefore, you can download FSC Test Prep in PDF or Practice question answers in Quiz.
Firearm safety is the law in California. Every firearm owner should understand and follow firearm safety practices, have a basic familiarity with the operation and handling of their firearm, and be fully aware of the responsibility of firearm ownership.
Pursuant to Penal Code section 26840, any person who acquires a firearm must have a Firearm Safety Certificate (FSC), unless they are statutorily exempt from the FSC requirement.
To obtain an FSC, a person must pass a Department of Justice (DOJ) written test on firearm safety. The test is administered by DOJ Certified Instructors, who are often located at firearms dealerships.
California Gun Safety Practice Test 2021
As you may know, California requires any person who acquires a firearm to have a Firearm Safety Certificate (FSC) (with some exceptions). To get an FSC, you have to pass a written test on firearm safety administered by DOJ Certified Instructors. The certificate is valid for five years.
For an additional $25, I took and passed the test when I attended an NRA Personal Protection Outside the Home class in the San Francisco Bay Area a few years ago.
FSC Actual Test Summary
|Test Name||California Gun Safety Test|
|Test Mode||Written Test|
|Test Administration||Department of Justice (DOJ) California|
|Total number of question||30 questions|
|Passing Marks||75% (23 correct answers out of 30 questions)|
|Type of Question||10 true/false questions and 20 multiple choice questions|
|Test Language||English and Spanish|
Seven topics specified in Penal Code section 31640:
|Certificate Name||Firearm Safety Certificate (FSC)|
|Certificate Validity||Five Years|
|Fees for FSC test||$ 25.00|
|Fees for replacement FSC||$ 5.00|
FSC Practice Test 2021 (Updated)
|FSC Test Online Quiz|
|Chapter-wise FSC Practice Test
End of all Chapters
Full set of FSC Sample Practice Test with printable PDF
Now Full practice set will be posted soon!
Gun Safety Rules
There are six basic gun safety rules for gun owners to understand and practice at all times:
1. Treat all guns as if they are loaded.
2. Keep the gun pointed in the safest possible direction.
3. Keep your finger off the trigger until you are ready to shoot
4. Know your target, its surroundings, and beyond.
5. Know how to properly operate your gun.
6. Store your gun safely and securely to prevent unauthorized use. Guns and ammunition should be stored separately.
Firearm Safety Certificate (FSC)
All firearm sales must be completed through a dealer. Firearm purchases require a Firearm Safety Certificate and proof of residency.
While the Firearm Safety Certificate is required for new purchases of firearms, ongoing possession of a firearm does not require a license or permit.
Effective January 1, 2015, the Handgun Safety Certificate program was replaced with the Firearm Safety Certificate (FSC) program. Under the FSC program, requirements that previously applied to handguns only now apply to all firearms (handguns and long guns), unless exempt.
A valid Handgun Safety Certificate can still be used to purchase/acquire handguns only until it expires. For long gun purchases/acquisitions made January 1, 2015, and thereafter, an FSC will be required. Once an FSC is obtained, it can be used for both handgun and long gun purchases/acquisitions.
To obtain an FSC, you must take the DOJ written test and receive a passing score of at least 75% (the information needed to pass the test is contained in this study guide).
An FSC is valid for five years from the date of issuance. If your FSC is lost, stolen, or destroyed, a replacement may be obtained from the DOJ Certified Instructor who issued your original FSC.
Firearm Safety Certificate (FSC) Requirement
To purchase or acquire a firearm, you must have a valid FSC. To obtain an FSC, you must score at least 75% on an objective written test pertaining to firearms laws and safety requirements.
The test is administered by DOJ Certified Instructors, who are generally located at firearms dealerships. An FSC is valid for five years.
The fee for taking the FSC test and being issued an FSC is twenty-five dollars ($25). Firearms being returned to their owners, such as pawn returns, are exempt from this requirement.
In the event of a lost, stolen, or destroyed FSC, the issuing DOJ Certified Instructor will issue a replacement FSC for a fee of $5. You must present proof of identity to receive a replacement FSC. (Pen. Code, §§ 31610-31670.)
The firearm safety demonstration protocols and DOJ Certified Instructor standards have been established and implemented by DOJ. An explanation of the firearm safety demonstration can be found starting on page 12 of the Firearm Safety Certificate Study Guide.
- Official Study Guide Link